Skip to text
Te Kura Kaiwhakawā
Kia tika kia pono
You are here: Governance Arrangements

Governance Arrangements

The Institute is governed by a Board. The majority of the members of the Board are judges who are assisted by representatives from the legal profession, the community and academia. The members of the Governing Board are:

  • Rt Hon Dame Helen Winkelmann, Chief Justice
  • Justice Joe Williams
  • Justice David Collins
  • Justice Susan Thomas, Chief High Court Judge
  • Justice Matthew Palmer Chair
  • Justice Rebecca Edwards
  • Judge Heemi Taumaunu, Chief District Court Judge
  • Judge Barbara Morris
  • Judge Craig Coxhead
  • Andrea King, Group Manager Senior Courts
  • Professor Mark Hickford, Victoria University
  • Dr Julia Ioane, Massey University, Auckland
  • Esther Watt, Stout Street Chambers
  • Janine McIntosh

The work of the Governing Board is to ensure that the Institute of Judicial Studies is delivering education of the highest quality. In this task it is assisted by a number of committees which manage the education needs of each Court. The following committees have been established:

  • Senior Courts Education Committee
  • Employment Court Education Committee
  • District Court Education Committee
  • Māori Land Court Education Committee
  • Family Court Education Committee
  • Youth Court Education Committee
  • Environment Court Education Committee

back to top ]